Sharp Objects

sharp-objects-book-cover

Sharp Objects

By Gillian Flynn

Four Stars

Since reading Dark Places, I have developed somewhat of an obsession with Ms. Flynn. Reading her novels out of order, Sharp Objects being her debut novel, I am deeply excited for Gone Girl. Her progression from Sharp Objects to Dark Places is noticeable. Whereas I was literally blown away with Dark Places I was less so with Sharp Objects.

Now don’t misread me, Sharp Objects is amazing by most standards but I was not very shocked by the ending. However, the ending was perfect. Ending the novel any other way would have left me with disappointment. The novel embodies characters that actually makes me wonders about their well-being. Their level of shared humility makes me crave an emotional bond with a make believe character.

It’s great, I’m obsessed with now Gillian Flynn. FYI.

Leave a Reply

